Pharoah Sanders – Rejoice (1981/2003)

Pharoah Sanders - Rejoice (1981)
Artist: Pharoah Sanders
Album: Rejoice
Genre: Free Jazz, Saxophone Jazz, Jazz-Funk
Label: Theresa Records
Year Of Release: 1981/2003

1. Rejoice 12:47
2. Highlife 7:37
3. Nigerian Juju Hilife 10:12
4. Origin 5:42
5. When Lights Are Low 6:42
6. Moments Notice 5:18
7. Central Park West 5:43
8. Ntjilo Ntjilo / Bird Song (Lullaby To A Child About A Canary) 4:40
9. Farah 5:29


A two-LP set on Theresa, Rejoice features Pharoah Sanders in excellent form in 1981. Sanders sounds much more mellow than he had a decade earlier, often improvising in a style similar to late-’50s John Coltrane, particularly on “When Lights Are Low,” “Moments Notice,” and “Central Park West.” The personnel changes on many of the selections and includes such top players as pianists Joe Bonner and John Hicks, bassist Art Davis, drummers Elvin Jones and Billy Higgins, vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, trombonist Steve Turre, trumpeter Danny Moore, a harpist, and (on “Origin” and “Central Park West”) five vocalists. The music always holds one’s interest, making this one of Sanders’ better later recordings.
Review by Scott Yanow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *